Carl Tilson talks about carrying the Olympic Torch

Carl Tilson, who is an active campaigner within the Trailblazers network, has been selected to carry the Olympic Torch through Cheetham Hill on 23 June.

“Being told I have been chosen to carry the Olympic torch was incredible there are no words to describe how amazing it felt! Even being nominated was an honour in its self.  It feels like I’m being rewarded for all the things I’ve done in regards to fundraising and raising awareness.

“The Olympics is one of the most prestigious events in the world historically it’s the definition of sport! It’s about bringing nations together and supporting our country. With the Olympics coming to theUKit will help build the economy by bringing money into the country and it will bring communities together.

“I have always been a highly motivated person that’s just my make up in life and I’m quite a determined person. Having been told I have Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and having lived through all the struggles associated with the condition it’s fair to say that’s what motivated me to take part in campaigning and fundraising work.

“The experience of being a torch carrier means everything to me and to my cause. I hope that I being a torchbearer will make the condition Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy more known.”


Follow our supporters, athletes, torch bearers and passionate advocates who are  involved in the Paralympics.

Leave a Reply

